piecesofpeace1

aging without botox

Daily Ground – – – February 15

THE GUEST HOUSE

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they are a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice.
meet them at the door laughing and invite them in.

Be grateful for whatever comes.
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

— Jelaluddin Rumi,
translation by Coleman Barks

I read the above poem and I nod, and nod, and nod in agreement with each line. Knowing in my head, my heart, my soul that this is the way.  That fighting being human doesn’t work.  With each new day comes a different challenge or joy or surprise. This is life; this is learning.

And still because I am human, I struggle. I still fight it. I still try to control. I am still delusional that I can get my way if I try hard enough. If I throw a bigger tantrum.

Today, I will journey with those I love and those who love me. I will be with them and let them be with me – – – in the challenge, the joy and the surprise.  For it is only with others that I can do this thing called – being human. I will be open. I will have the intention to meet what ever feelings or thoughts come my way “at the door laughing, and invite them in.”

Peace.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Daily Ground – – – February 15

  1. This is beautiful! One of my favorite poems by Rumi, and a constant reminder that whatever arises within me, to hold it with love. Thank you for this….perfect for today!

Leave a Reply

