piecesofpeace1

aging without botox

Daily Ground- – -February 9

“When you are sorrowful look again in your heart, and you shall see that in truth you are weeping for that which has been your delight.”
― Kahlil Gibran

I cried eating sauerkraut today.  Not the tears running out of your eyes crying, but the inside heart sadness crying.  My husband suggested I go to our local coffee shop and try the Polka Pie. A homemade hot pie with kielbasa, red potatoes and sauerkraut.  As soon as I tasted the sauerkraut, a full range of sad emotions poured over me. It reminded me of how my mom would cry singing Polish songs.

I didn’t want to leave the shop.  There have been times in my life where I’ve wanted to run from sadness, but now I don’t mind it. When it involves history, it makes me feel closer to a past I’m beginning to forget with less and less people around to help me piece it together.

I wanted to stay in the coffee shop. I felt close to my mom. I didn’t mind the feelings at all. The coffee shop was closing at 6, so I did indeed need to leave.  The feeling dissipated. Why fear them? Feelings come and go.  I’m grateful to be awake enough to experience them.

Peace.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

