piecesofpeace1

aging without botox

Daily Ground- – -January 31

First – unclench your fists. The hardest part of praying is letting go of our resentments, bitterness, and anger–and that means not holding back from God. – – -Henri Nouwen

The other morning I awoke and was disappointed because my plans were ruined. It’s never good to be grumpy before you leave the sheets. There were some unexpected weather related delays, and something I was planning on attending was cancelled. As I began my daily devotions of prayer, mediation, and writing, I noticed my jaw was tight and my fists were clenched.

I walked away knowing I had to let go.

I opened the curtains and looked outside. Another frigid morning. I took a deep breath in, and continued looking. It was beautiful outside. The blue sky. The snow covered ground. The red cardinal.

I relaxed. The fists opened. The jaw loosened.  I returned to my morning devotions. I let go. I started my day over.

Peace.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

