piecesofpeace1

aging without botox

Daily Ground – – -January 19

“The fear of death follows from the fear of life. A man who lives fully is prepared to die at any time.” ― Mark Twain

Why are most people so afraid of death and dying? When my sister was gravely ill, I remember talking to  a friend one night, exclaiming through my tears, “I’m so afraid she’s going to die.” My friend remained silent listened to me cry for a few moments. She then replied, “She is going to die – we all are.”

We all die. So now what? Do we go through life trying to play it safe? Trying to control and protect ourselves and our loved ones?  That doesn’t sound like living to me. I try to live fully. For me that doesn’t mean jumping out of airplanes. It doesn’t mean going to every party out of obligation or because I might miss something if I’m not there.  If this is living to you – go for it – live!

For me it’s finally about listening to my heart. It’s about being present to people in front of me. It’s about sharing myself and my story unabashedly. It’s living so that when I die, people will say they truly knew me, and that I truly lived.

Peace.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

